My recent visit to IIT Gandhinagar!

My recent visit to IIT Gandhinagar!

Almost every kid who takes science and math in class 11 has at least a goal of being accepted into one of India's esteemed engineering institutions, known as the IITs. Due to the fact that one of my brothers is a student there, I recently had the opportunity to visit IIT Gandhinagar. In this blog, I'll describe my experience there and all I observed and learned during my 2-day visit.

In comparison to the city where I currently reside (Jaipur), Gandhinagar was pretty clean, had far less traffic, and the institute was around 7 kilometres from the station.When I got to the college, I was astonished to see the campus since it was around 15 times the size of my college, with a campus area of about 450 acres.

Here are a few of my visit-related observations and learnings.

  • I observed a thing called Booking of classes which is a practice that allows you to reserve classrooms for a specific period and utilize them as you choose with no one bothering you. I noticed a group of students who had reserved the lecture hall and were studying for their last exams of the semester.

  • The college library was so quiet that it scared me out at first since i haven't seen a library this quiet before(Fun fact:- Their cafeteria was more quiet than my college library), the books had RFID tag(security tag) similar to those supermarkets wear to prevent items from being stolen.

  • The institution offers bicycles that can be borrowed for free for three hours with the college ID, which is, in my opinion, sort of great.

  • There is a structure or facility at the campus called the sports complex that features courts for nearly every sport (they even have a squash court!). The fact that Gujarat National Games 2022 were conducted there suggests that these colleges place equal emphasis on extracurricular activities as they do on academics, demonstrating the quality of the facilities.

These were some of the things that I saw when I was on the campus. I didn't get the chance to meet many students there because most of them didn't even leave their dorm rooms due to impending exams.